UIW Shines at the Texas Pharmacy Association 2013 Conference and Expo

TPANewsFSOP was well-represented on many fronts at the Texas Pharmacy Association 2013 Conference and Expo, July 24-27, 2013 in Frisco, Texas.  Dr. Christopher Alvarado, FSOP alumnus 2010, received the Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year award.  The award was presented to him by Senator Leticia Van De Putte, who remarked that she expected to see Dr. Alvarado in the Texas legislature in the near future.

At the TPA Annual Meeting Dinner, FSOP students pose with Dean Johnson-Fannin and alumnus Dr. Chris Alvarado.  Student Jeffrey Van Liew (‘16) was elected Chair-Elect of the TPA Student Executive Committee.  Three students represented FSOP in the Texas Patient Counseling Competition:  Mr. Roderick Sanchez (‘14), Ms. Amanda Zessin (‘15) and Ms. Kim-Ly Nguyen (‘14).  Ms. Zessin brought home first place out of all 6 pharmacy school teams in the state.  This is the second consecutive year UIW has won this honor.